Kindergarten

fullsizerender-6

Just a few minutes ago I finished registering my oldest son, Wyatt, for Kindergarten. My biggest little boy will turn 5 next month and then start Kindergarten in the fall. Where in the world has the time gone?

Words can’t even express how proud I am of this young man. He is so tender-hearted and kind. He is a natural born leader who loves structure and following the rules (at least for other people besides mommy).

Wyatt has learned so much about love, the importance of family, faith in Jesus, and loving others. I believe that most of his uncanny knowledge has come from his experience of losing his twin sissy at just 20 months old to brain cancer. That loss has stayed with him and he still has a connection to Olivia that I can only dream of.

As Wyatt gets older he has more questions about his sister, where she is and why she had to leave us so young. He is sad. Sometimes her loss makes him mad. But he also believes wholeheartedly in the important work he is a part of through his sissy’s foundation. He attends all of our fundraisers and has been a part of every single check presentation and gift card drive. He is learning what it means to serve at such a young age.

His heart for service is clear from how he loves his family to the way he treats his friends and everyone he encounters. This wonderful little boy can make such a difference in the world.

But today as I am filled to the brim with pride in my oldest boy, I also feel a deep, dark sadness. When the question popped up if I have any more children to register, I had to click no. But my answer should be yes. I should have two little ones starting Kindergarten together in the fall. Child loss is anything but fair.

The Olivia Caldwell Foundation is a 501c3 nonprofit that raises money for pediatric cancer research. You can learn more, donate and sign up to volunteer by visiting www.oliviacaldwellfoundation.org.

Leave a Reply

